The appellation Champagne is part of the 18 appellations of region France. You can find on this page 1907 wines of Champagne for sale. Read more on Champagne

    ​ ​ ​
  1. 1
  2. 2
  3. 3
  4. 4
  5. 5
  6. 6
  7. 7
  8. 8
  9. 9
  10. ​ ​
Region Champagne

A little bit of history: it all started in 1927. At that time, only traditional grape varieties from the Champagne region were authorised to produce the wine called Champagne, in order to ensure quality standards. That was what made this sparkling wine unique, setting it apart both from other wines made in the region and from other sparkling wines. Today the Champagne appellation contrôlée region encompasses 3,400 ha and four major subregions: Côte des Bar, Vallée de la Marne, Côtes des Blancs and Montagne de Reims. There is a difference between the Champagne houses (or merchant houses) and Champagne winegrowers. The former are at the root of Champagne's fame around the world, and they produce big-name wines that are instantly recognisable. The latter cultivate their own vines and occupy their own place in the wider chain of production. There are a multitude of different Champagnes to suit every festive occasion for the wine's many fans. Brut, dry, white, "grand cru", vintage or rosé – how do you like it?

Good to know


Listed 703 winemakers


90% sparkling wines, 5% red wines and 5% rosés


26 000 ha

Soil and subsoil

Limestone (constant natural irrigation)

Grape variety

Reds and rosés : pinot noir, meunier

Whites : Chardonnay, Pinot Blanc, Pinot Gris, Arbanne and Petit Meslier

Champagne appellations